My Toddler, Autism & MTHFR, part 3

Part 1, Part 2

I am almost in tears here.  A few minutes ago, I was playing with my little guy.  He was playing with his legos. Building with them, not throwing them. At one point, he did throw a couple of pieces. I said, “No throwing.” He looked at me, then at the pieces and placed them back down. If you don’t have a child with autism, this may be hard to understand.  This is such a major breakthrough.

But my little guy wasn’t done surprising me yet. He figured out that his Thomas trains fit on the car track and started moving them around and around. After a bit he got frustrated that one went off the track and started to melt down a bit. I was sitting on the other side of the table and said, “It’s OK buddy, come give mama a hug.” He looked at me for a minute and then he came over and said, “Hug” and put his arms around my neck! He then went back to where he had been and started playing again.

How can this be? In just over a week he went from almost completely non-verbal and non-responsive to this? Now he says “up”, “down”, “on”, “more”, “in”, “again”, “hug”, “kiss” and a few more! When he wants something he can’t explain, he comes over, says “Mama” and takes my hand to bring me to what he wants. All because I gave him a couple of vitamins?

Why isn’t it common knowledge that so many kids with Autism respond well to methyl B-12 and methyl folate? I want to shout it from the rooftops, but I know that people will think I am crazy. After all, if there was anything that could help, their doctor would tell them, right?

If I am crazy, so be it. I’m happy and I will keep sharing.

2 thoughts on “My Toddler, Autism & MTHFR, part 3

  1. Love your posts and so glad your son is reacting well to methyl b12 and methyl folate. My son is compound hetero for c677t and a1298c . He has always had a bad gut, allergies, and he is speech delayed and has a major PTT tongue and lip tie. He is 16 months. He is also now suspected of having seizures so we are doing a seizure study in 2 weeks. He also has stims but doctor doesn’t suspect Austim yet.

    My question is- what brand supplements are you using and does your son have CBS or COMP mutations? That is the only think holding me back from supplementing with methyl folate and methyl b12.

    So glad I found your blog! (Also, we’ve been paleo a year due to my sons allergies and it has felt great!)

    • Thank you for your comment. Sorry for the delay in responding.

      I haven’t done 23andme on my son yet, but I know I have one CBS and one COMP mutation, so there is a chance he does too. I think it is Amy Yasko who says to treat the CBS first, but many others say it doesn’t matter which order you treat. My personal (non-medical-professional) opinion is that if you start low and slow it is harmless enough. If you suspect over-methylation, a tiny bit of niacin can help stop it.

      We are using Seeking Health brand multivitamins and have used several different brands for the MB-12. I am about to try Garden of Life Organic MB-12 spray.

Comments Wanted!

